

INDUSTRY NEWS



PD VAGHELA IS NEW CHAIRMAN OF TRAI

The Appointment Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) announced the appointment of PD Vaghela as the chairman of the Telecom Regulatory of India (TRAI). His appointment is for a period of three years or until he attains the age of 65, whichever is earlier.

Vaghela is a Gujarat-cadre IAS officer of batch 1986, will succeed RS Sharma who is set to demit the office on September 30, 2020. Prior to his new stint, he was secretary, department of pharmaceuticals (DoP), under the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers. He was responsible for controlling the prices of medicines and medical devices.

Vaghela was one among the several officials who played a key role in the rollout of the goods and services tax (GST) in 2017.

Typically, the tenure of a TRAI chairman is three years, or 65 years of age, whichever is earlier, and the TRAI Act does not have a provision for extension of the tenure of the chairman.

However, RS Sharma was appointed TRAI chief in July 2015 for a three-year tenure ended in August 2018, the government offered him a fresh term of two years, that is till he turned 65. This way, he became the first TRAI chairman to have a tenure of five years.

Sharma, who had got a three-year extension in August 2018, helmed the telecom regulatory authority during a critical period when the telecom sector and the market witnessed several changes, including consolidation.

He also played a key role in the adoption of net neutrality in India and introduced a new framework for broadcasting and cable services.

The telecom sector has been witnessing several changes, a key one being the issue of the adjusted gross revenue (AGR) dues and its subsequent unravelling in the Supreme Court. Despite an extended 10-year time frame granted to telecom companies for the repayment of their dues, the situation for leading players Vodafone Idea and Bharti Airtel remains grim.

ट्राई के नये अध्यक्ष होंगे पीडी वघेला

कैबिनेट की नियुक्ति समिति (एसीसी) ने पीडी वघेला को भारतीय दूरसंचार नियामक (ट्राई) के अध्यक्ष के रूप में नियुक्त करने की घोषणा की है। उनकी नियुक्ति तीन साल के लिए है या जब तक कि वे 65 वर्ष की आयु पर न पहुंच जाते हैं या जो भी पहले हो।

> श्री वघेला 1986 बैच के गुजरात कैडर के आई एएस अधिकारी हैं. वे 30 सितंबर 2020 को आरएस शर्मा का स्थान लेंगे, जो उस दिन सेवा से मुक्त हो रहे हैं।वे अपने नये पद पर नियुक्त होने से पहले रसायन व उर्वरक मंत्रालय के तहत औषधि विभाग (डीओपी) के सचिव थे।उन पर दवाओं व चिकित्सा उपकरणों की कीमतों को नियंत्रित करने की जिम्मेदारी थी।

श्री वघेला उन कई अधिकारियों में से थे जिन्होंने 2017 में माल और सेवाकर (जीएसटी) को लाग् करने में अहम भूमिका निभायी थी।

आमतौर पर ट्राई के अध्यक्ष का कार्यकाल तीन वर्ष या 65 वर्ष की आयु तक रहता है, जो भी पहले हो. और ट्राई के अधिनियम में अध्यक्ष के कार्यकाल के विस्तार का भी प्रावधान नहीं है।



जब तक कि वे 65 साल के नहीं हो जाते।इस तरह वे ट्राई के पहले अध्यक्ष बन गये जिनका कार्यकाल 5 वर्ष का था। अगस्त 2018 में तीन साल का विस्तार पाने वाले श्री शर्मा ने एक

महत्वपूर्ण अवधि के दौरान दूरसंचार नियामक प्राधिकरण की जिम्मेवारी संभाली जबिक दूरसंचार क्षेत्र और बाजार में पुर्नगठन सहित कई बदलाव हुए |

उन्होंने भारत में नेट तटस्थता को अपनाने में भी महत्वपूर्ण भूमिका निभाई और प्रसारण व केबल सेवाओं के लिए एक नयी रूपरेखा पेश की।

दूरसंचार क्षेत्र में कई बदलाव देखे गये हैं, सबसे महत्वपूर्ण मुद्दा सर्वोच्च न्यायालय में समायोजित सकल राजस्व (एजीआर) बकाया और उसके बाद के हुए खुलासे की सुनवाई। टेलीकॉम कंपनियों को उनके वकाये के पूर्नभुगतान के लिए 10 साल की समयसीमा के बावजूद प्रमुख कंपनियों वोडाफोन आइडिया और भारती एयरटेल के लिए स्थितियां गंभीर बनी हुई है। ■



PD VAGHELA